The Question

Over the past few weeks, I have done some major thinking on the question “where do you want to be in five years?”  We use this question often in life coaching as a starting point.  Wherever that is, let’s work toward that now.  I have been working on myself with this question and came to the stark realization that five years was simply too far – and too many missed opportunities – for me to attempt to plan that far.  My kids are in 7th, 9th, and 11th…so that means means in five years 2 are out of the house (supposedly) and one is about to graduate.  Um, that is a lot of life change for them, and for me!

I decided to drop it down to two years, and then I simply stopped.  I was making something too complex.  I wasn’t giving myself the grace to realize there are seasons in life and I need to be in the one I am in. I need to be content in wherever I am in that season, because it is a season that will come to an end.  Does that mean I can’t dream and have goals for the future?  No.  For me, it just means those dreams and goals are something to work toward in the midst of living in the present, and not at the sacrifice of the present. 

Lesson learned through these past few weeks?  My perspective has changed.  I am not as focused on the “me” part of what I will be in 5 years, rather focused on the “being” part of the moment.   The present may not be what I would have envisioned a few years ago – both in the positive and negative – but it is where I am.   I do know it is God’s plan for this very moment, and I will rest in that.

  “You make known to me the path of life;
    in your presence there is fullness of joy;
    at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” Psalm 16:11

 

3 thoughts on “The Question

Leave a Reply

