They say the mind is the first thing to go…

I don’t know about you, but it seems these past few years I’ve felt my age a bit more than usual.  Physically – sure.  My jumping on the trampoline days are limited – not gone, but limited.  Thanks to our YMCA and that lovely director (a.k.a. known as Dean, my husband), our family has always had the privilege of being able to exercise at YMCA facilities and are continually surrounded by healthy folks.  (Of course, being surrounded by healthy people never seems to have the same effect as being surrounded by chocolate, or donuts….). 

But the mind – ah, the mind.  Some days I think I just need another cup of coffee, but that doesn’t help many times.  One thing I do know, as I get older, I want my mind to stay sharp and strong.  .  I recently came across this post on Michael Hyatt’s blog and was encouraged.  Just like I go to the YMCA to strengthen my body, there are habits I can incorporate that will strengthen my mind.  LaRae states in the conclusion

The five elements of a strong mind are not only for heroes—they are for people like you and me, people who are struggling through the tough times, so we can savor the good ones. Toughness is in the spirit and soul, not the muscles. Building a strong mind is a lifelong task. It will not only pay off when obstacles are in your way, it will become habit, and eventually a part of your identify. Be Strong!

Click here for the full article and enjoy the learning.

2 thoughts on “They say the mind is the first thing to go…

Leave a Reply

