Opinions

 

In life coaching, one of the things I focus on with clients is figuring out WHO they are – not defining who they are by what they do.  One of the main reasons we do this is because i believe so many women reach a point of forgetting WHO their CREATOR created them to be and what unique purpose He has for them – one specific to that woman.  They/We get so wrapped up in what we are doing for so many years that we forget we aren’t just what we do!

My friend Eileen posted the below blog and book review today – well worth the read.  Thank you Eileen for the reminder.

The Only Opinion That Matters

Posted on January 26, 2012

 

I recently finished Mark Batterson’s book Soulprint. If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it. In his book, Mark points out that “the journey of self discovery begins with asking God. Who am I? because true self discovery happens only in the presence of God.” King David asked it in 2 Samuel 8:18 in gratitude when he prayed “Who am I, O Sovereign LORD, and what is my family, that you have brought my family this far?”

The author makes a point of reminding the reader that even more important than the question Who am I? is who we direct that question to. Had David believed his father, he never would have been anything more than a shepherd boy who sung to his sheep. His own relatives doubted his potential.  But, and this is a big but, when we pose this question in the appropriate direction then, and only then, do we receive an answer we can depend on and trust.

But Moses said to God, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the children of Israel out of Egypt?” He said, “But I will be with you…(Exodus 3:11-12a)

This morning I read the above verses in Exodus.  Moses is questioning God on who he is that he should be the one to bring the Israelites out of Egypt.  Who am I, God? 

I love God’s answer.   I will be with you.

God doesn’t give Moses a list of reasons why he is the right man for the job. Why?

Because who we belong to will always carry more weight than who we arewhen God desires to use us.

Sometimes when God calls us to do something difficult we immediately look at our limitations.  I am not qualified for the job, God.  But, God reminds us that if He is on our side, if He is with us, we have everything we need.

Today, I want to trust the opinion of the only One that matters.

I belong to Him.  He is with me.

One thought on “Opinions

Leave a Reply

