Five11 Coaching Notes – January 2011

FIVE11 COACHING NOTES

Encourage.

The Christmas season has ended, and another jolly year passed. Our family enjoyed precious time away in the mountains of North Carolina, and for the second year in a row we were almost snowed in! What fun it was. The whole family enjoyed lots of ‘quiettime’ by the roaring fire after playing in the snow for hours. One of our favorite things was sledding down the smaller mountain hills. Alas, I am healthy and fit now, so I thought “I’m going to enjoy this sledding too!” So, down the hill I went…zooming by my husband and children. Unlike everyone else, though, I didn’t fly off the sled as I jumped the ramp – I just kept going and going until I was stopped by Jack – our 4 wheeler guarding anyone from sledding into the icy pond. Jack, however, is an all terrain vehicle with no ‘soft sides’ to hit. As you can imagine, I hit it quite hard, stunned to say the least. I had no idea I was that close. I curled into a ball, pain shooting through my back, thinking “great…here I am, working so hard to be healthy and fit and I do something stupid and end up in worse shape than before!” Thankfully, though, the story doesn’t end that way. There were quite a few tense days of a bit of pain nursed by some heavy duty Tylenol, but eventually it subsided and I was quite thankful. What is the encouragement in that? Well – be encouraged to try something new!  Thrive in life, don’t just survive it…though there may be some brief moments you are just thankful you are surviving!

Challenge & Inspire

“Most of us perish from too much bread rather than too little, filling the gnawing emptiness within through ceaseless consumption…for us, we ought to pray for the grace to be able to say, in a culture of consumption, “give us the grace to know when enough is enough” or “help us say no when the world entices us with so much.”

William H. Willimon and Stanley Hauerwas, “Lord, Teach Us”

“Therefore, encourage one another and build each other up…” 1 Thess. 5:11

Leave a Reply

