Five11 Coaching Notes – February 2011

FIVE11 COACHING NOTES

Encourage.  Challenge & Inspire.

Encouragement comes in many forms. A word aptly spoken. A gesture eloquently performed and gracefully received. A quiet thought penetrating a busy mind. Five11 Coaching seeks to add to the great things of your day with a letter of encouragement, a thought to a challenge, and a moment of inspiration.

“When one door closes another door opens; but we so often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door, that we do not see the ones which open for us.”~ Alexander Graham Bell

A recurring theme I keep reading and hearing is to stop worrying about the “could have been’s” because they aren’t, and quit wasting time thinking of the “what if’s”, but rather BE in the moment. It is so easy to write. So easy to say. So hard to do.

I can’t tell you how much time I’ve spent re- thinking past thoughts and attempting to pre-write future decisions, regardless of whether they were in my control or not. All the while, I miss the moment. I miss the innuendo of my daughter’s voice as she tells me about her friend at school and how her feelings were hurt. I miss the slight quiver of my husbands’ voice after a long day when he simply wants a peaceful and calm home to enter in, where there are no demands, no questions, no expectations, but rather just a safe haven. I miss it. And, by missing it, I continue the cycle of worrying and wondering. Ah, the insanity!

Deep inside me I know and believe the Scripture that teaches, “So do not worry about tomorrow, because tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own (Matthew 6:34).” Consider this your challenge and my challenge. Be present in the moment before you. Be present for those in front of you. They’ll walk away inspired by you. Until we meet again – Chris

“Therefore, encourage one another and build each other up…” 1 Thess. 5:11


 

Leave a Reply

