19

19 years ago I went on my first official date with my husband.  We had been friends for a few months prior, neither of us really acknowledging the fact that we liked each other….until November 9, 1991.

16 months later we were married in March of 1993 on a cold, blustery day in Arkansas.  And, time has marched on……..through school, jobs, and children.  Was it all easy?  Nope.  Could you have told me 19 years ago that it wouldn’t be easy and I would have believed you?  Nope.  But – here we are and I am so very thankful to have a husband who loves me and has stuck by my side through so many of lifes ups and downs.  It hasn’t been perfect.  It hasn’t been without its ‘moments’. But, it has been.

A few things I’ve learned over the years…….

1- Men do not think like women – ever.

2- The toilet seat has never been an issue…the toothpaste, though…well.

3 – Children add a whole other dimension to communication between a husband and wife.

4 – Cereal is okay for supper.

5- My husband is a much better cook than I am, and after 15 years I finally succumbed to that fact and he is now the chef in our home.

6- **Sappy post*** – over the past 19 years, we’ve kissed at least 6000 times.  Yikes.

7- Never take your wedding thank you cards  with you on your honeymoon – never.

8- Hide the chocolate.

9- Never use the phrase “I just wanted to remind you” to cover up for the thing you are really doing…..nagging.  The man can see right through it (even if he really does need a reminder).

10- At the end of the day, my husband is still the one I want to share my day with – all the ins/outs…funnies and not so funnies….and it takes more effort to do that now, but is so worth it.

3 thoughts on “19

  1. Beautifully put Chris! You are both amazing gifts from God and a wonderful example of a Godly marriage! Thanks for being my friend (And very cool sis-in-law)!

Leave a Reply

