13…

Our daughter turned 13 yesterday.  I knew it was coming.  I’d talked about it for a while.  But, the reality struck yesterday when the day of celebration was over.  I am the mother of a 13 year old.  I, the one who remembers exactly what I was doing/saying/writing/thinking when I was 13.  I, the one who still doesn’t have it together, yet am the mother of 13 year old, so shouldn’t I have it together?

For some reason I thought I’d be ‘over’ some of the issues I still have as a mother of a 13 year old – you know, peer acceptance, fitting in, looking the right way and not being a dork, not to mention the parenting side of worrying about money to pay for the things needed for a growing child.  Does this mean I’ll be plagued by this for a long long time still?  Ugh – I hope not.  And ugh, I hope I don’t transfer all of that to my children, but somehow, someway, I am afraid I do.  I want to transfer confidence and grace, I really do.

So, now what.  13 years of trying and I still don’t have it together.  Sure, some things are better, but I still have a long way to go!

One thing I do know, though, is that my Savior doesn’t give up on me, nor does He give up on our children.  His mercies are new each morning; His strength will carry us through; He goes before, beside, and behind me; and I can trust Him.  He is a good God.  So, I will continue to turn to the Source of my salvation, the Source of my being, and the one who created and designed me and each of my children for a unique purpose.  And, I’ll throw in a bit of chocolate along the way.  😉

2 thoughts on “13…

  1. Well said. I remember when I was 13 and used to look at people my age and think…boy, they must know the answers to everything by now….HAHAHA! Yep, we are works in progress. Thank goodness for grace! 🙂

Leave a Reply

