Work…it simply won’t end

I enjoy reading.  I enjoy writing.  Of course, not as much as some of my friends, but enough that I believe this blog might be a bit about the insight I learn from books!Recently, I’ve been reading “Reaching for an Invisible God” by  Philip Yancey.  The following quote has stuck with me over the past few days –

“…early on in their work Mother Teresa instituted a rule that her sisters take Thursdays off for prayer and rest.  ‘The work will always be here but if we do not rest and pray, we will not have the presence to do our work.'”

Now, I imagine the poor and the needy were ever present in their world, and the need was so great that there must have been times that Mother Teresa and her sisters felt like they could be there 24/7 and still not reach everyone.  YET they had to choose to stop and spend time with their Creator.  They simply needed that in order to be fully present, fully able, and fully equipped to do what they were called.  How opposite, though, it seems to us.  How in the world am I supposed to ‘stop’ when there are little girl dramas to sort out, dishes to clean, ministry to take care of, people to respond to, a home to upkeep, a husband to partner with, and doggies to take care of?

But, I simply must.  I must dwell with my Heavenly Father and when I do, His presence abides with me, guides me in those moments and amazingly enough, I do have the presence to do His work.

One thought on “Work…it simply won’t end

  1. It’s so true though. We need to ‘feed’ ourselves with God so that we have energy and knowledge to ‘feed’ others.

    Well put.

Leave a Reply

