Thursday Thoughts

A few thoughts running across my mind these past few days….

The economy of late has been a bit shaky. We hear of people losing jobs, losing retirement money, and millions being spent on things that make most of us shake our heads. Whether we shake our heads in disgust or confusion is another matter. In some areas of the country, the economy slow down has affected nearly everyone. In other parts of the country, including where I live, it is noticeable, but hasn’t slowed down the pace of things much.

It dawned on me yesterday, though, that my thinking has changed in one area, and I wonder if it is that way for many of us now. We constantly hear of folks losing their jobs – jobs that were thought to be secure. We all know the ebb and flow of life and the ups and downs of a job, regardless of how successful you are at your job. Now, however, I seem to be a bit more anxious when I hear of someone having a rough day at work. Instead of thinking – ‘oh, just a rough patch, it’ll be better tomorrow.’ Now, I think – ‘uh oh – is he/she going to lose their job?’

It is interesting to me that the panic and anxiety of our culture during this time has altered my thinking. Yet, one thing that hasn’t altered is Who is in control. I am thankful that the God I serve is not surprised, He is not alarmed, and He knows the tomorrows. I can rest in Him.

“The steps of a man are established by the Lord; And He delights in his way. When he falls, he shall not be hurled headlong; Because the Lord is the One who holds his hand.” Psalms 37:24

One thought on “Thursday Thoughts

Leave a Reply

