Nagging Thoughts

Today’s post has been swirling around in my mind for a few days. Normally I have these ‘swirlies’ and eventually I don’t take the time to sit down and write it, and it swirls away. These thoughts, though, are staying put. Thus, I am sitting and writing.

I have been thinking a bit about busy-ness.

I will be the first to admit that my life has gone through seasons where I am lucky to remember to brush my teeth at night before collapsing in bed, just to do the same thing again the next day. And, I will also be the first to admit that many times, I made poor choices that led to this craziness in my life. The irony, as it always seems to be, is that none of these choices were ‘bad’ decisions, or ‘bad’ things to do. They were all good things. However, they were only as good as good can be when you are neglecting those to whom you are called to serve first – God and your family.

Several years ago, my husband and I were headed down a path of busy-ness that neither of us had anticipated, yet we simply saw no way out without making some drastic decisions. At that point in our life, I wasn’t sure how to do that. How do you tell someone ‘no’ when they are asking you to do such a good thing? Yet at the same time our three children, all under the age of 6, were being left behind at times (not literally…) simply because they were not old enough to ask!

And you know what happened – the Lord moved us out of the state. It was unexpected but both my husband and I also expected it because we knew things were reaching a point that we would lose control of what matters most. That move taught us to measure the ‘asks’ against what the priorities in our life were. The big priorities – God, family, each other – didn’t change. However, sometimes our available time did and we would have to measure decisions against that. At other times, we would need to just say no if we weren’t clear of what the expectations were as far as time and commitment. And, ironically enough, people noticed that. We never told anyone this is what we were doing, but suddenly people would approach us and thank us for not just saying ‘yes’ when they asked, but saying that we needed to talk to our husband/wife, and simply saying we needed to pray out it. They knew that when we said ‘yes’ we said ‘yes’. We were living out ‘let your yes be a yes and your no be a no.”

Getting back to my original point – busy-ness. According to the worlds view, our culture tells that it is okay to be busy – we are almost applauded and expected to answer ‘i am soooo busy’ when people ask us how we are doing! Imagine the answer if instead of saying ‘i’ve been so busy’ we say ‘i have been enjoying playing with my kids and catching up with my friends.” I would do a double-take on that one!!!

Yet, what does Scripture teaches us? What did Jesus model for us during His time on earth. He- the Creator, Lord, Savior, Friend, Shepherd, Healer, All-knowing God – could have used the busy excuse and would have been completely accurate. BUT He always took the time to listen to those in front of Him, to explain many of the same things over and over to His disciples, to develop relationships and follow up on them. He also knew when enough was enough and confidently said He needed to be by himself for a little while. And, this was okay.

I have a lot to learn about prioritizing my life. There are so many attractive things out there than can fill the quiet times. There are many ‘good’ things I could be doing, but at the sacrifice of whom? At the end of each day, I pray that I would be able to say that I prioritized my life around what matters most to our Savior, that I was able to say “wherever I am, I was all there” and I didn’t just react to the many things that inevitably came my way and tell someone I was too busy to share life with them.

One thought on “Nagging Thoughts

Leave a Reply

