Contrarian’s Guide to Knowing God….spirituality for the rest of us

I just finished reading the forementioned book by Larry Osborne. Very thought provoking. Thought I would share a few of my favorite moments in the book:

“Contrarian thinking at its best simly asks, “Is that really true?” And it speaks up when the politically correct answer or conventioanl wisdom doesn’t match reality – when things don’t work the way everyone says they do or thinks they do.”

“To overcome the impact of that static, and to free up the Spirit to do His work, we have a role to play. It’s not a matter of digging deep to produce our own spiritual growth. It’s more in line with being willing to let go of our own agenda and allowing him the freedom to genuinely change us from the inside out.”

“Am I really willing to let God change me? Really change me? Not just empower me to do his will, not just show me his will, but actually change – from the inside out – how I feel and what I want?”

“The Greek word translated as “faith” in our Bibles has nothing to do with a powerful imagination, eradicating doubt, or any other form of mind over matter. It has nothing to do with feelings or mental imagery. It has to do with obedience.”

“The fact is, God has given most of us a passion and gifts for only a few things. When we follow those passions and hone those gifts, we end up doing exactly what we were made to do.”

Proverbs 21:30-31 “There is no wisdom, no insight, no plan that can succeed against the Lord. The horse is made ready for the day of battle, but the victory rests with the Lord.”

If the master asks me to serve his family by making sure his guests are well fed, it doesn’t matter if I have the gifts to be a virtuoso, I belong in the kitchen, not the concert hall.”

One thought on “Contrarian’s Guide to Knowing God….spirituality for the rest of us

  1. “The fact is, God has given most of us a passion and gifts for only a few things. When we follow those passions and hone those gifts, we end up doing exactly what we were made to do.” I like this quote, Chris. Thanks for the excerpts. May we all be found faithful to His calling! Flower Lady

Leave a Reply

