The Turtle

For the second time this week, I have been driving down one of the main roads and seen a turtle attempting to cross the street. I am on the other side, so there is no sudden veering on my part, rather just a watching in my rear view mirror and wondering, “Is he going to make it?” This morning I watched the school bus hit the breaks, as well as those behind the bus, in order to avoid crushing the turtle. I am hopeful that turtle is now safely at home, eating whatever it is turtles eat.

The turtle got me thinking, though, about my life at the moment. In so many ways I am just trying to get from point A to point B and have no idea of the dangers and obstacles in my way. Yet, I keep moving forward, knowing that my destination is point B. At many parts of the journey the obstacle seemed so big. Now it is just a speck behind me. I did not move the obstacle or face down the danger, rather I kept my eye on the final destination of where my Lord wanted me to go and took each step He directed me to take. I continue on the path given to me and keep my eye on where I need to be, yet I remain fully aware of what is imminently in front of me.

I, like the turtle, need to remember to dwell in each moment of my day. I do not get that moment back. And, when the obstacle comes, I have to be ready to react how the Lord would have me react – whether that be retreating back into Him seeking further guidance or taking one more faithful step forward so that the obstacle becomes a speck in my past. At this moment – not later or after I finish the endless list of things to do, but in this moment I will dwell.

Matthew 6:33-34 says

“…for your Heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

2 thoughts on “The Turtle

  1. Moving on…stepping out…and trusting Him for directing the “traffic” in my life. Blog is looking great, Chris. MOM Meints

Leave a Reply

